The Netherlands is a country that is part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. It is bordered to the west and north by the North Sea, along the eastern border by Germany and to the south by Belgium. The capital of the Netherlands is Amsterdam, the seat of government is The Hague. The Caribbean islands of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba are part of the country as special municipalities.