Paul Nijgh-award


During a ceremony at the Flag Parade on Boompjes, alderman Faouzi Achbar announced the laureates of the Paul Nijgh Award 2023 on Tuesday afternoon, 10 October. This year, three awards will be awarded to ‘Bridge Builders’ in Rotterdam The Paul Nijgh award is awarded every two years to Rotterdammers who have made a special achievement, either in their work or as volunteers. “In a world full of contrasts and polarisation, we need people who actively strive to connect. People who connect others to make our wonderful society even more liveable. This is why we chose the theme of Bridge Builders this year and, from a long ‘long list’, we managed to select three laureates who really make a difference in their own communities and thus in our city,” said Sezgin Yilgin, board member of the Paul Nijgh award foundation.

The three laureates for 2023 are:
– Louisa Boulkhrif, founder of Stichting Zuiderlokaal;
– Paul van Dorst, founder of the LGBTQ+ supporters’ association deRoze Kameraden Feyenoord;
– Young Mich Poetry (Y.M.P), the founder of Productiehuis Flow on Pleinweg.

The Paul Nijgh awards will be presented on Friday 17 November 2023 at City Hall by Mayor Aboutaleb in the presence of guests of the three Laureates.

More information:

  • Share: